The AIA/CES Program

AIA members are required to complete 18 learning units every year with a minimum of 8 units in the category of Health, Safety and Welfare (HSW). All Won-Door education and training seminars are AIA registered and qualify for HSW Learning Units.

Few life safety components are as essential to building design as means of egress. Won-Door education and training seminars examine code provisions that permit the use of complying horizontal sliding fire doors in a means of egress and present the applications where this technology can be used to solve complex design and life safety issues.

This education and training program meets the AIA/CES criteria. Members will receive a certificate for learning units which will be reported directly to CES.

The seminars include:

  • A comprehensive review of the code language and performance criteria
  • A demonstration video
  • A presentation of common applications

Learning Unit Options

  • Sliding Doors in a Means of Egress: An Analysis of Recent Changes to Model Codes is offered as a 1-hour seminar for 1 HSW Learning Unit. (0WDFG2)
  • Opening Protective Requirements in Fire & Smoke Walls is offered for 1 HSW Learning Unit. (WD07OP)
  • Fundamental Concepts for Architects for 1 HSW Learning Unit. (NFPA3000WD)

Successful completion of the course qualifies for:

  • 1 AIA LU/HSW
  • 1 IACET CEU (International Association for Continuing Education and Training)